Home > MySQL, SVN > Amazon EC2,S3,EBS,CloudFront. . .OH MY!

Amazon EC2,S3,EBS,CloudFront. . .OH MY!

December 13, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have been working on some new projects since leaving my last job about 6 months ago.  One is to build an entire infrastructure that is highly available and redundant.  With Amazon Web Services this is a snap and almost makes my job obsolete.  With EC2, S3, EBS, and CloudFront you can build a scalable solution with dependable backups with ease.  My goal now is to also use AWS to create an intranet for the company.  I have not found much on this topic so I ma taking the time to document it here.  My ideas so far:

  • Use Fedora Directory Server as main LDAP solution.  This can be used with EBS (Elastic Block Storage) with striped volumes to store the LDAP data.  Along with having redundant multi-master replication geographically depending on where the EC2 instance is set.
  • Subversion server using EBS for storage.  Using EC2 for something along the lines of SVN is a good use since it speeds up performance.  Along with having the backup ability of EBS and EBS Snapshots
  • Twiki as documentation for intranet.
  • SugarCRM for customer relationship management which will include project management and bug tracking.
  • S3 for backing up users data automatically.  This is helpful since it is a telecommuting company. Using a tool like JungleDisk or similar.
  • The DEV and Staging environments will also be on AWS with same Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) as the production environment.

That is all I have so far I will update as the project comes along.

Categories: MySQL, SVN Tags: , , , , ,
  1. March 20, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Hi,
    I got to ur post via a recent google. Great ideas. What is the status in 2011, esp in light of the Amazon introducing a highly affordable micro instance on EC2, and many subsequent goodies.

    I am interested in putting up, micro- run, EC2 versions of Moodle (bitnami?), which can be run by individual teachers, or small schools, to help them get started on VLE and Moodle, for distance education/training. Building the infra structure, on a commonly shared, base, for many teachers/institutes, for administration, accounting, CRM and ERP, to run the community. This server will have an LDAP (which integrates with Moodle authentication), and also track the enrolement, fee payment etc, on a centralised basis.

    I look fwd to ur suggestions.

    Regards,
    Vipen

  2. June 27, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  3. April 22, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Its not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this website
    dailly and obtain fastidious data from here everyday.

  4. April 23, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    This GPS provides an unsurpassed display, showing you topographical maps and current updates on the screen.
    It is one of the greatest investments for the safety
    of children one could make to feeling of losing your child even if it’s for minutes because it will be the most devastating and stressful situation you will ever go through. This is more evident from the fact that today you will be able to use your mobile phone as a Global Positioning System tracker.

  5. May 17, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a
    blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to swap
    techniques with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.

  6. May 17, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  7. June 20, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Very cool providing us helpful hints! All great points worth considering.
    Many thanks – Coming back next week. Thank you, so much!

  8. June 28, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    It is not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this web site dailly and get fastidious facts from here daily.

  9. July 16, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due
    to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?
    It’s So much appreciated!

  10. July 16, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.
    Many thanks

  11. July 22, 2013 at 2:51 am

    you are actually a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing.
    It seems that you are doing any distinctive
    trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a excellent task on this matter!

  12. July 22, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    I don’t even understand how I finished up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not understand who you are however definitely you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already. Cheers!

  13. July 23, 2013 at 7:08 am

    Hey there terrific blog! Does running a
    blog similar to this require a massive amount work? I’ve virtually no expertise in computer programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I simply needed to ask. Cheers!

  14. July 23, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, great written and come
    with almost all important infos. I would like to peer
    more posts like this .

  15. July 24, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly
    enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?

    Thanks a ton!

    Recommended Reading
    Recommended Reading
    Recommended Reading

  16. August 1, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    These tips tips are great. I always appreciate brainstorming regarding catchy subject lines.
    Often it can be tough, but we must do what we need to do – please our readers!

  17. August 4, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    It’s an amazing paragraph for all the web users; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  18. click here
    August 5, 2013 at 4:28 am

    You actually make it seem so easy with your
    presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  19. June 4, 2016 at 9:10 am

    If you would like to grow your experience only keep visiting this
    web site and be updated with the newest news update posted
    here.

  1. June 1, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Leave a Reply

