Home > SVN > Managing EC2 Configurations Using SVN

Managing EC2 Configurations Using SVN

December 13, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am a big fan of using Subversion for things other than just versioning code.  In the past I have used SVN to manage configuration files across many servers.  Making it easy to deploy and (if needed) roll back changes.  It is also a big help on development servers for PHP developers to commit changes and see them live on the development server.  This is easily accomplished using SVN hooks.  There are plenty of HowTos on this topic if seeking that information.

Now that I am up to my eyeballs in Amazon Web Services I am looking to use SVN to help me leverage the new found power of the cloud.  Now I am not saying it is a good thing to use SVN for things other than code versioning.  But it has always worked for me in many other ways as well.

Some of the things I am thinking of using SVN:

  • Update DEV web server using hook scripts for devs to see changes to trunk.
  • Maintain Apache and other config files for AMIs.
  • Maintain code repository for versioning along with take advantage of S3 for backup and processing power of EC2.

This is a work in progress so I am looking to perfect the design to my liking soon.

Categories: SVN Tags: , , , ,
  1. April 24, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Kettle, Business & Commercial Activities, Vista Primary Care, says:.
    I’d bet real money that if you polled people on the street, 99 out of a 100 of them would have never even heard of Desiree Jennings. A new feature of this study is data from company new Food Shopper Insights Survey, conducted in March 2011.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

